Midwest Student Exchange Program

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln is a member of the Midwestern Higher Education Compact and welcomes students from Midwestern Student Exchange Program (MSEP) states who want to grow intellectually and socially. UNL is a comprehensive Big Ten university with over 100 different undergraduate programs, an outstanding research library, superb recreational opportunities, a lively arts and entertainment environment, and a beautiful and safe campus setting conveniently neighboring the downtown area of Nebraska's capital city. 

As a Husker, you’ll create the future you want—and you’ll do it from day one. You’ll be part of a community of students and faculty who collaborate to produce real-world, relevant results. You’ll be challenged and supported as you pursue a career you’ll love doing in a job that makes a difference. Visit Career Services to see how Nebraska grads have used their experiences here to land jobs and move the world forward.

What is the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP)?

The Midwestern Higher Education Compact (MHEC) helps improve access to postsecondary education through the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP). Since 1994, MSEP has provided more affordable opportunities for students to attend out-of-state institutions. The MSEP serves as the Midwest's largest multi-state tuition reciprocity program.

Over 70 colleges and universities in Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin have opened their doors to each others' citizens at more affordable rates. Although the Midwestern Higher Education Compact is composed of twelve Midwestern states, MSEP is a voluntary program (as are all MHEC programs) and eight of the twelve states participate. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, and South Dakota do not participate in the MSEP at this time.

How it Works for MSEP States and Campuses

MSEP participating public institutions agree that students will pay no more than 150% of the in-state resident tuition rate for selected programs for academically qualified students. A student must enroll as a non-resident student at a participating MSEP campus, including Nebraska, to receive the benefit. All admission, enrollment, and awarding decisions are made at the discretion of the campus and Nebraska may exercise its right to limit participation, set specific admission requirements, and/or set specific academic requirements for MSEP students.

Actual savings through the program vary by campus depending upon tuition rates. Participating students will typically save between $500 and $7,000 annually. At Nebraska, savings are usually in the form of an academic scholarship of $15,000 for students selected as an MSEP Beadle Scholar.

How it Works at Nebraska

Tuition at Nebraska is posted on the Office of Student Accounts website. As a member of MSEP, Nebraska agrees that MSEP students at UNL will pay no more than 150% of resident tuition. Nebraska fulfills this commitment through awarding competitive academic scholarships to qualified MSEP students rather than applying a tuition discount to all students admitted from MSEP member states. Prospective MSEP students who exhibit superior academic performance will receive University scholarships that provide an offset to the non-resident tuition. A scholarship committee conducts a holistic scholarship review process that includes an objective assessment of academic achievement with a subjective final academic review. Guiding academic benchmarks for consideration of the MSEP George Beadle Scholarship are slightly modified from the general George Beadle Scholarship.

Not all admits to Nebraska from MSEP member states automatically qualify for an MSEP-eligible academic scholarship. Students undergo an academic review for consideration and Nebraska reserves the right to limit awarding of MSEP-qualified awards.

For more information, students can connect with Husker Hub at huskerhub@unl.edu or 402-472-2030.